Leaving the doctor worse off than when I arrived

This morning my left eye was looking quite red so Mum thought that she should take me to the doctor just to make sure it wasn’t contagious.

Which is good because I'd been complaining about my sore leg from scraping it in the weekend and thought the doctor should look at my big, nasty scratch too.

Which is good because I’d been complaining about my sore leg from scraping it in the weekend (which Mum wasn’t taking nearly seriously enough) and so I thought it was an opportune time to show the doctor that too.  (Mum jokes you have to expand the photo to see it but I’m sure you can all see how serious that cut is even if you’re reading this on your phone!)

The doctor said both my eye and my very sore leg were fine.  We went back to the reception area so Mum could get a note to clear me for my school whilst I practised my pirouettes on the delightfully slippy vinyl floors.  Then SMACK.  I landed my pirouette face first to the floor, cutting my lip and bleeding all over the reception floor, and then Mum’s jacket (thanks for the hug, Mum).

And ended up back in the doctor's room to clean up the blood and get it checked out.  She said it was a decent split and maybe I should stay home today after all.

So for the second time that day I was back in the doctor’s examination room to clean up the blood and get it checked out. She said it was a decent split and maybe I should stay home today after all.

So here I am back at home with a bruised and swollen lip, a red eye….

So here I am back at home with a bruised and swollen lip and a red eye….

and finally Mum took my leg wound seriously enough to put a band aid on it (it helped they were right beside the eye drops at the supermarket.  Nice merchandising there, thanks Kroger).

but finally Mum took my leg wound seriously enough to put a band aid on it (it helped they were right beside the eye drops at the supermarket. Nice merchandising, thanks Kroger).

I’m not in a rush to visit the doctor again.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags:

10 Responses to “Leaving the doctor worse off than when I arrived”

  1. Abuela Says:

    Such a sad and sorry picture! This pirouetting business is seriously dangerous! Beware!

  2. Natasha on Facebook Says:

    Poor Ana, I’m sorry but couldn’t help a small chuckle

  3. iggytheaviator Says:

    So! Ballet is dangerous! I knew it all the time.
    I think that I will go and have a nice cup of tea. (Abuela has boiled the kettle). Get well soon, Ana.

    • Ana Says:

      Tea probably is safer than ballet. Unless you’re drinking tea whilst you’re doing ballet at the same time. Then it’s really, really dangerous.

  4. Bree @ meandmy2guys Says:

    Poor Ana. I’m sure I’ve told you before, there must be blood for us mums to take it seriously. Good job on generating some blood! PS I hope it wasn’t mum’s beautiful white puffy jacket!

  5. Dad Says:

    Oh my little girl, I hope you are OK. Did the cupcake help?

  6. John Faris Says:

    Visiting doctors can also be fun ……. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

