All Hallows Eve Renaissance Festival

Our friends had tickets to the Texas Renaissance Festival but they couldn't go, so fortunately for us, we got their tickets.

Our friends had tickets to the Texas Renaissance Festival but they couldn’t go, so fortunately for us, we got their tickets.

At the time of getting the tickets, we didn't realise we were heading to the USA's largest renaissance theme park.  55 acres of a 16th century European village comes alive for 8 weeks a year.

At the time of getting the tickets, we didn’t realise we were heading to the USA’s largest renaissance theme park. 55 acres of a 16th century European village comes alive for 8 weeks a year.

There was so much to see and do and being located almost 2 hours North of Houston half of Austin and Dallas were there too.  It was HUGE.

There was so much to see and do and being located almost 2 hours North of Houston half of Austin and Dallas were there too. It was HUGE and a wonderful bombardment of sights, sounds and smells.

All the shop keepers were in theme and they called us "my lord" and "my lady"

All the shop keepers were in theme and they called us “my lord” and “my lady”

Lost of the festival goers were dressed in theme too… either renaissance or this weekend's theme of All Hallows.

Lots of festival goers were dressed in theme too… either renaissance or this weekend’s theme of All Hallows Eve.

We did our best with a last minute raid of the dress-ups box.

We did our best with a last minute raid of the dress-ups box.

There was music and dancing everywhere.

There was music and dancing everywhere.

And useful classes, on topics such as sword techniques.

And classes on useful topics such as sword techniques.

As soon as I saw the archery I had to get some arrows and have a try.

As soon as I saw the archery I had to get some arrows and have a try.

The girl on Brave makes it look easier than it is.

The girl on Brave makes it look easier than it is.  Rafa got a few good shots in although I don’t think any of us tickled, let alone slayed the dragon.

We met lots of interesting people.

We met lots of interesting people.

erm… not sure if they were all really people?

erm… and things?

But they were all super friendly.

They were all super friendly.  And not scary at all.

And many gave us gifts like teeth and jewellery.

Many of our new friends gave us gifts like teeth and jewellery.

We were super impressed that the food wasn't just the standard fair fare!

We were super impressed that the food wasn’t just the standard fair fare!  Papi got stuck into a turkey leg

and fruit!

and we demolished the fruit!

I wasn't convinced by the scotched egg (well the boiled egg part was okay, but I accidentally dropped it half way through).

I wasn’t as convinced as the others on the scotched egg (well the boiled egg part was okay, but I accidentally dropped it half way through).

And I have no idea how I ended up with iced witches brew but that was cool!

And I have no idea how I ended up with iced witches brew (maybe because it was the only non-alcoholic drink where we stopped for a break) but there were no complaints from me!

And you'll never guess what we stumbled upon just as we were thinking it might be time to head home...

And you’ll never guess what we stumbled upon just as we were thinking it might be time to head home…

An elephant ride!!

An elephant ride!!

See… I am there in the middle!

See… I am there in the middle!

All good festival days must come to an end and a long drive back to Houston.

Eventually after getting side tracked by jousting and trying to convince Mum and Papi to buy us swords and shields we made it back to the car for the big drive back to Houston.

Check it out here: Texas Renaissance Festival

Tags:

5 Responses to “All Hallows Eve Renaissance Festival”

  1. Abuela Says:

    I must remember to get a set of those teeth for sleeping in when I am ancient and toothless! What a way to enhance your looks!

  2. Abuela Says:

    And, by the way, what a stunning festival!

  3. Bree @meandmy2guys Says:

    Oh my gosh my boys would love that so much!!! Have to make sure it’s on next time we visit.

  4. Iggytheaviator Says:

    Wow – that looks great! African elephants in 16th century Europe. I never knew that until now. I think they have gone extinct lately.

  5. John Faris Says:

    Fabulous day (and agree with the comments on the teeth).

Leave a Reply

