Emergency Late Night trip to Walmart

It’s our first splash day of summer at the office tomorrow and our teachers told us we need ‘water shoes’ to participate. Mum, who let’s face it, is a little out of the know on these sorts of things, took that to mean ‘shoes which you can get wet and different from the dry shoes in your bag to wear post splash’.  Mum was brought up to speed on such matters at home time this evening. Crocs are not appropriate water wear so there was much fuss (yep, from us) at the thought we might have to sit the first splash day out.

So after dinner, we headed out to Walmart (it's open 24 hours and has everything, for cheap)

So after dinner, we headed out to Walmart (it’s open 24 hours and has everything, and for cheap) we figured someone there would know what proper water shoes are.

Here we go.  They label says 'Girls' Water Shoes' and 'Boys Water Shoes'.  Sorted.

Here we go. They label says ‘Girl’s Water Shoes’ and ‘Boy’s Water Shoes’. Phew, now that we’ve got the real thing we can participate in splash day tomorrow.

Hey, there's some really cool stuff in here.

Hey, there’s some really cool stuff in here.

I bet this has better range than our water pistols.

I bet this has better range than our water pistols.

I like that one.  And I like this one.

I like that one. And I like this one.

C'mon Papi.  Surely we can get one little thing?!?

C’mon Papi. Surely we can get one little thing?!?

Tags:

7 Responses to “Emergency Late Night trip to Walmart”

  1. Abuela Says:

    So girls splash their shoes differently from how boys splash their shoes? Yes, I guess they possibly do!

  2. John Faris Says:

    Mum might be out of it because I would have thought the same as her and therefore not educated her correctly. Sorry about that. But what are they then? And yes, how does the different splashing mean different shoes are needed for boys and girls. I don’t think it is too late to learn, so try please.

  3. Jennifer Hunt Says:

    I am now going to look for some coloured water shoes for aquarobics. I have only seen black ones for adults and they are boring.

  4. Bree @meandmy2guys Says:

    Aha like the shoes you wear snorkeling so you don’t cut your feet on the coral? Poor mum. I would have made them same mistake sadly and we don’t have 24/7 Walmart here. Did you see any of the infamous Walmart people?

  5. Iggy the Aviator Says:

    Why am always the last to know? Even now, I do not know what water shoes are! Still, being a Kiwi, I can wear bare feat.

  6. Jennifer Hunt Says:

    I do aqua without them but I believe they help with the grip. It is good that the school is looking after little feet (and perhaps minimising the insurance risk (?) while adding to the occasion). I say go and have fun in the colourful shoes!!

Leave a Reply

